Sweet and Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes

I bet you thought I posted a picture of some burnt food, didn’t you? Nope. These sweet potatoes are coated in a layer of caramelized goodness. As you can tell, I am back on the brown sugar theme. Inspired by my recipe for Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies (check them out here http://3-squaremeals.com/2011/07/19/time-for-a-treat-butterscotch-oatmeal-cookies/), I was still craving the sweet note of buttery brown sugar. I really wanted a more savory flavor though and decided on roasted sweet potatoes.

This recipe is so forgiving and full of flavor.  I mean, you really can’t mess these up. I tested this recipe multiple times, kicking up the heat in some batches and sweetening up other batches. After my numerous experiments, I decided this version is the most balanced. They have that slightly sweet note I was looking for but have a mild kick of spice with chili powder, cumin and a touch of cayenne pepper. The cayenne gives you that little catch in the back of your throat that keeps you coming back for more – no real burn, just the perfect little kick.

I have to admit, one large sweet potato should equate to two individual servings. But in all honesty, I can’t resist eating both servings. I recently had to share with my 11-year old niece with only one sweet potato – she loved them and I wanted more. Consider making one sweet potato for each person or do a better job in controlling yourself than me. One note: I love my roasted sweet potatoes very crispy and right on the edge of burnt. If that is not your thing, shave about 3-5 minutes off the cooking time. Let me know if these are addictive to you too!

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients

2 large Sweet Potatoes, large dice

2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tbls chili powder

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp cumin

2 tbls brown sugar

2 tbls vegetable oil

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Line a sheet pan with parchment paper (aluminum foil can work too) – this is an important step.

3. Mix all ingredients, tossing until all potatoes are evenly coated.

4. Add potatoes to sheet pan in a single layer.

5. Bake for 15-20 minutes, stirring twice during the roasting process.

6. All potatoes to rest for 5 minutes before serving. Ths will allow the potatoes to crisp on outside.

Leave a Reply

