Budget Friendly: Crustless Bacon and Tomato Quiche

Sometimes you just need to clean out the fridge. Finding ways to use that one last red pepper, half bag of spinach, or the three remaining slices of ham is easy…go for the quiche! Many of us though think the quiche has to be hours in the making with fresh dough and edge crimping. It doesn’t need to be that way. In about ten minutes of prep time, you can have a family size quiche without a trip to the grocery store or a floury mess on your counters.

I woke up this morning and wanted more than my usual peanut butter toast and yogurt. I had an onion, four slices of bacon and a tomato. I had a quiche! Don’t have bacon? Substitute ham or leftover chicken. No tomato? Use that lonely green pepper or broccoli. Just add a few eggs and your favorite cheese and you are almost there. My one constant is an onion…I can’t imagine a quiche without an onion. The flour in the mix along with the cheese will create a thin flavorful crust that will ensure you don’t miss the pastry crust. Today I had cheddar and parmesan cheeses so I made a Bacon and Tomato Quiche.

Look in your refrigerator this morning. I bet you have the makings of a delicious quiche that will impress your family! Tell me about your flavor combination.

Crustless Bacon and Tomato Quiche

Ingredients

4 Eggs, beaten

1/2 Cup Onion, diced

1/2 Cup Tomato, diced

3/4 Cup Cheddar cheese, shredded

4 Tbsp Parmesan Cheese, shredded

1 Cup Bacon, cooked and crumbled

2 tsp Salt

3/4 tsp Black Pepper

1/2 Cup Flour (All Purpose)

1 1/2 Cups Milk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray pie or tart pan with cooking spray.
  2. Sprinkle 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese evenly on bottom of pan.
  3. Add all remaining ingredients to beaten eggs. Mix well. Pour into prepared pan.
  4. Bake for 30 – 40 minutes or until center of quiche is fully set and lightly browned.
  5. Allow to rest for 5 minutes before serving.
One response

  1. I had all the ingredients for this recipe. So I made the quiche this morning and it was yummy…Thanks for sharing. I have had a couple different versions that you have made with different ingredients and they are all really good. I like that it is so easy to make!!

Leave a Reply

