Honey Wheat Bread

Other than chocolate chip cookies, nothing smells more welcoming in your home than freshly baked bread. I decided some time ago that making my own bread was well worth the effort. Not only do I get the best smelling house on the block but I feel better about what I am eating. Here’s the thing though…I usually have only a few minutes to put my bread together, then I need to move on. I am sure you feel the same way.  I invested in a bread maker and after some serious bread recipe testing, I found my favorites. This honey wheat bread is one of those favorites.

This Honey Wheat Bread is crusty on the outside, soft on the inside, and has just a touch of sweetness that works well with any sandwich while being the perfect Sunday morning French toast base. If you want to add a bit more “health” to this bread, simply add a couple tablespoons of flax seed or ¼ cup of wheat germ with ¼ cup additional water. You can also adjust the amount of whole wheat flour by increasing the amount of whole wheat flour and decreasing your bread flour by the same amount. If you are like me, you don’t fully appreciate the look and size of the loaf out of the bread machine. I fixed that by using the bread machine for the dough cycle (i.e. all the hard labor) and then bake the loaf in my oven using a standard loaf pan. Now it’s perfect!

You know you want your home to have the aroma of fresh baked bread. Go for it!

Honey Wheat Bread

Ingredients

1 1/4 Cups Water, Lukewarm

1 tsp Salt

1 Tbsp Vegetable oil

1/4 Cup Honey

1 1/4 Cups Whole wheat flour

1 1/4 Cups Bread flour

1 1/4 tsp Active Dry Yeast

Directions

  1. Using dough cycle (white bread setting, 1.5 pound loaf), add ingredients per bread machine manufacturer’s instructions.
  2. Upon completion of dough cycle, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat loaf pan with spray or butter.
  3. Add dough to loaf pan, shaping as needed. Cover with a damp paper towel. Allow to rise for 15 minutes.
  4. Bake loaf for 20-25 minutes, until lightly browned.
  5. Immediately remove from the loaf pan onto a cooling rack. Cool for 15 minutes. This step is very important if you want a loaf that is crusty on the outside and soft inside.
2 responses

Leave a Reply

