Cherry Almond Chicken Salad

Sometimes you just want a sandwich. I woke up Sunday instinctively knowing that nothing was going to taste as good as a sandwich. I also knew that a grilled cheese wasn’t going to cut it (although sometimes this hits the spot!). I wanted something a little unique with the feel of homemade. My first thought was chicken salad, which I usually make with grapes. However, grapes were so expensive at my grocery store this week. Right next to those grapes were some sweet cherries – on sale. A quick change of plans. What goes with cherries…almonds. Now I was getting excited. 

After putting everything together and making my sandwich, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Each bite had a bit of sweet cherry, crunchy celery, and moist chicken.  I am now a happy camper – with leftovers for lunch on Monday! Make this Cherry Almond Chicken Salad while cherries are still sweet. You won’t regret it!

Cherry Almond Chicken Salad

Ingredients

1 lb Chicken breast, skinless and boneless

1/2 Cup Celery, sliced thin

1/4 Cup Onion, diced

3/4 Cup Fresh sweet cherries, quartered

1/4 Cup Almonds, slivered

4 Tbsp Mayonaise

1/2 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Black Pepper
Directions

  1. Poach chicken for 15-20 minutes, depending on size of chicken. Remove chicken and cool in refrigerator.
  2. Dice chicken into small pieces.
  3. Add all remaining ingredients to chicken, mixing well.
  4. Taste for seasoning. Chill until ready to serve.

 

 

One response

  1. I made this for lunch today Tanya. Good Stuff. When Dad got home I gave him a taste and surprisingly he loved it, surprising because he doesnt usually like chicken salad. He said he wanted it for dinner instead of the lazagna I was going to make.

    I like chicken salad, especially this one. The cherries were a nice twist and our cherries right now are in season and very sweet right now. Will make this one again.

Leave a Reply

