Fight for your Corn: Grilled Parmesan Lime Corn on the Cob

It has been a tough summer here on the East coast when it comes to getting great fresh corn. Earlier in the year I was reading that we could expect a shortage of the sweet stuff. Now I read that farmers have a larger supply of corn than expected. I won’t talk about the law of supply and demand here but what I can say is that I have not been happy with my corn choices this season. First, I tried my grocery store…they didn’t even have any fresh corn! What? None at all? Second, I tried the farmers market. The selection was meager and dried out. I almost gave up when I finally found a few, only a few, ears of good looking cobs. I grabbed them like I was shopping for a TV on Black Friday (imagine elbows out and a fighting stance) and headed straight for the register. I will have at least one great corn cob before the summer is out!

This corn side dish is juicy and sweet, with a nice salty bite from the parmesan.  The lime balances everything out. While I wanted fresh corn for this dish, the reality is that this works wonders for frozen corn on the cob as well. Grab some corn this week, turn on the grill (indoor or outside) and eat this quintessential summer treat!

Grilled Parmesan Lime Corn on the Cob

Ingredients

4 Corn on the Cob, husked and cleaned

6 Cups Water

1 Tbsp Vegetable oil

3 Tbsp Butter, softened

1 Garlic clove, peeled

1 Tbsp Lime juice

1/4 Cup Parmesan Cheese, shredded

1/2 tsp Salt

Pinch Cayenne pepper
Directions

  1. Bring water to a boil. Add corn. Boil for 5 minutes. Remove from water.
  2. Heat grill (indoor or outdoor) to medium heat. Brush grill with 1/3 of the oil.
  3. Grill corn until there are grill marks on all sides, about 5 minutes. Brush corn with remaining oil as needed.
  4. While corn is grilling, grate garlic (grating will prevent large chunks of garlic) into butter. Add lime juice, cayenne pepper (just a slight pinch), and salt. Mix well.
  5. Remove corn from grill. Brush with butter mixture, then roll or pat with Parmesan. Serve with a lime wedge.
Leave a Reply

