Unique and Easy: Marinated Mozzarella Bites

Every so often I take a trip to a specialty grocery store about thirty miles from my home. I can usually beat the everyday grocery store doldrums to find more interesting fruits and veggies, unique meats, and one of my favorites…the olive bar. This particular specialty store has every olive imaginable. One of my favorite selections on the olive bar is the marinated cheese. They usually carry some feta and mozzarella in a heavy olive oil spiked with crushed red pepper and herbs. I add some cheese to my olives and rush home. What happens when I get home? I eat the cheese and save the olives for later. I can’t seem to wait for these spicy little bites.

These Marinated Mozzarella Bites are my version of the olive bar offering. They are perfect as a snack or as an appetizer at your next party or family dinner.  I thought about adding some grated garlic but I worried it would overtake the whole appetizer. If you want some garlic, add it. If you like it spicy, add more crushed red pepper. Make it your own and tell me what you think!

Marinated Mozzarella Bites

Ingredients

8 oz Fresh mozzarella cheese

1/2 Cup Olive Oil

1 Tbsp Basil, minced

1 tsp Thyme, minced

1 1/2 Tbsp Chives, minced

1/2 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Black Pepper

1/4 tsp Crushed red pepper
Directions

  1. Dice mozzarella into large chunks.
  2. Add all remaining ingredients in a separate bowl. Mix well.
  3. Add mozzarella chucks to marinade. Stir well until all mozzarella is covered in marinade.
  4. Store in refrigerator for at least 8 hours, stirring every so often.
  5. Ready to serve.
2 responses

  1. My fiance and I enjoyed these tasty mozzarella bites immensely. Excellent recipe one that I will make again and again.

Leave a Reply

