My Food Adventure: Steamed Mussels

For about fifteen years I was a vegetarian. There are days I wish I still was but I have been lured by the new tastes I am experiencing. One of my goals right now is to try new things and with this recipe, I feel like I really challenged myself. I challenged myself not just with new flavors but with different textures. I can’t say I am completely sold on mussels just yet because of the texture but the flavors were great. I did love the comfort food feel of the meal and I especially enjoyed dipping my crusty bread in the wine based broth. If you enjoy seafood, I think you will find these Steamed Mussels tasty. 

Another great and sometimes unknown positive about mussels is that they are pretty darn cheap. Did you know that? I never knew that. At about $4 per pound, you can feed four people on one pound. Add another pound and your meal will be gluttonous! And then there is the ease of steaming mussels…it really is just too easy to make this meal. Feeling adventurous like I was? Give these a try!

Steamed Mussels

Ingredients

1 lb Fresh mussels

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Tbsp Butter

1 Shallot, minced

3 Slices Bacon, diced

2 Cloves Garlic, minced

2 Sprigs Thyme

1 Lemon, zested and juiced

1 Cup Pinot grigio

3/4 Cup Chicken broth

Pinch Crushed red pepper

1/4 Cup Parsley (Chopped)
Directions

  1. Brush mussels clean under cold running water, removing any beards. Discard any mussels that are open or have broken shells.
  2. In a stock pot, sauté olive oil, butter, shallots and bacon until bacon crisps. Add garlic and sprigs of thyme. Sauté an additional 3 minutes.
  3. Add mussels and toss.
  4. Add wine, broth, lemon juice and red pepper. Cover and steam for 5 minutes or until all mussels are open. Remove and discard any mussels that do not open after 8 minutes or so.
  5. Add parsley and lemon zest. Cover and steam an additional 1 minute.
  6. Serve with garlic bread to soak up the broth.
Leave a Reply

