A Family Favorite: Buttermilk Garlic Ranch Dressing

There are a few recipes that are considered must haves by my family. Whenever we get together, my sisters almost always request my Tomato Feta Bruschetta (even if we aren’t having Italian food) and this Buttermilk Garlic Ranch Dressing, although we just call it “that garlic dressing”. When I make it for my family, there is a reason it is called “that garlic dressing”. Let’s just say we are willing to forego kissing anyone for a good 24 hours to have some of this stuff. 

For you I have toned down the breath destroying garlic. When you make this dressing, (and if you enjoy Ranch dressing you really should whip up a batch of this tonight) let it come together in the fridge for at least 2-4 hours. It will thicken up and really develop its creamy garlic flavor. Serve it with your favorite green salad and enjoy! 

P.S. If you are a Boggs family member (you know who you are!) or enjoy the burn of a SUPER garlic dressing…substitute one green onion (white and green parts) for the chives and add one more clove of garlic. Have some seriously strong gum or mints on hand…

Buttermilk Garlic Ranch Dressing

Ingredients

1 Cup Mayonaise

1/2 Cup Buttermilk

1/2 Cup Sour cream

2 Tbsp Chives

1 Clove Garlic

1 Tbsp Flat Leaf Italian Parsley

2 tsp Lemon juice, approximately half a lemon

1/2 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Black Pepper
Directions

  1. In a blender, combine all ingredients until smooth. Taste and adjust salt and pepper as needed.
  2. Chill at least 2 hours.
4 responses

  1. So I made this tonight…and of course I made the Boggs version. Garlicky, just the way I love it!!! I love the blog because when I can’t be down there in Florida for you to make ALL my favs, I can make them at home now.

Leave a Reply

