Give Unique a Try: Sweet Sausage and Roasted Grapes

For what seems like an eternity, I have heard about people roasting sausage with grapes. They talk about how the grapes make a wonderful sauce when they are roasted and while they are sweet, they are not so sweet that they overpower the dish. They also go on and on about how delicious and unique roasted sausage and grapes can be. I have been telling myself that I would make this dish for a very long time. That time has come! 

Now that I have finally tried this, I can tell you that I really liked it. After par cooking the sausages in boiling water, I roasted the links with the grapes and some pearl onions. After roasting, I made a pan sauce with the remains of the pan and served everything with a creamy polenta (recipe to come soon!). The sausage had a distinct flavor that paired very well with the sweet grapes. The only change I will make next time (yes, there will be a next time) is that I will use both sweet and hot sausage links instead of just sweet sausage. I think that will give a little element of surprise as you’re eating. I really like surprises…although I prefer flowers and jewelry, but I take what I can get. 

I know this one sounds unique but if you enjoy sausage, try this on your family this weekend. Stop by my website afterwards and tell me what you thought.

Sweet Sausage and Roasted Grapes Recipe

Ingredients

1 1/4 lb Italian sweet sausage, links (4)

1 Tbsp Butter

1 lb Seedless Grapes (any color), stemmed

1 lb Pearl onions (fresh peeled or frozen)

1/4 Cup Chicken Broth

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a large oven proof skillet, add water to fill skillet 3/4 up sides. When boiling, add sausages to parboil for 8 minutes. Remove water and discard water.
  3. In same pan, melt butter. Add grapes, pearl onions and broth. Add 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp black pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce by half, stirring frequently.
  4. Nestle sausages in skillet, pushing sausage to bottom of pan. Roast in oven for 15 minutes. Turn sausages over and roast another 15 minutes. Remove from oven. Remove sausages and allow to rest, covered with foil to keep warm.
  5. On stove top, add balsamic vinegar to skillet (careful…it’s hot!). Scrape the bottom of pan with wooden spoon. Allow sauce to reduce until slightly thickened. Serve over sausages.
Leave a Reply

