Remembering Greece: Baked Feta Appetizer

Several years ago I traveled with some friends to Greece. It really was a trip of a lifetime with amazing scenery, good friends, smooth red wine, and some of the best food I have ever tasted in my life. One of the dishes I found at almost every restaurant we visited was a Baked Feta appetizer. We would receive a bubbling hot foil wrapped package of delicious, salty feta that we would scoop onto veggies, crackers, and bread…lots of bread. I have spent years thinking about this feta cheese and have tried to recreate it a few times. When I found a high quality feta at a local gourmet food market, I decided that I was going to treat myself to some Baked Feta today. 

If this Baked Feta is calling to you as is does me, pick up a block of decent quality feta cheese and treat yourself to one of the easiest appetizers you’ve had in a long time. Be sure to stop by my website afterwards and tell me what you think.

Baked Feta Appetizer Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 lb Firm block feta cheese

4 Tbsp Olive oil

1/2 Cup Tomatoes, diced

Pinch Oregano, dried

2 Small cloves Garlic, minced

1 Loaf French bread
Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Have four sheets of aluminum foil (approximately 6″ x 6″ square) available on large sheet pan. Splash each foil sheet with olive oil.
  2. Cut feta into 4 equal slices, about 1/2 inch thick. Place each feta slice on a foil square.
  3. Sprinkle each feta slice with a pinch of oregano, diced tomatoes, and garlic. Top each with a splash of olive oil.
  4. Gather foil to make a pouch – no liquid should be able to leak out.
  5. Place sheet pan in oven and bake for 12 minutes.
  6. Remove from oven and serve immediately in foil. Do not discard the liquid in each foil package – this is perfect for mopping up with the bread! Serve with fresh loaf of French bread.
5 responses

  1. Pingback: Baked Feta « swimmingwithsharksonmainstreet

  2. Thank you for your post. I tried your Greek inspired goodness tonight. My family loved it! I caramelized the garlic first. I will consider adding artichoke hearts in my next batch.

    • For this recipe I used a fresh block of feta from a local specialty grocery store. However, I would try Athenos or a block of feta from the cheese case in any grocery store. I hope it works well for you!

Leave a Reply

