Pumpkin Week! Day Two – Pumpkin Whoopee Pies with Maple Cream Filling

Pumpkin Whoopee Pies with Maple Cream Filling

It is day two of my pumpkin exploration! My one and only objective is…No Pumpkin Pie! Today’s dessert not only gives me a new way to use pumpkin, but it also gives me an excuse to eat a creamy filling. It could be whipped cream, mousse, or in this case a Maple Cream Filling, but if it’s creamy I am all over it. My brain tells me to run the other way in an effort to protect my naturally curvy (such a nice way to say it!) hips while my heart and taste buds beat down my brain in a fight club style epic event. My brain rarely wins.

These Pumpkin Whoopee Pies with Maple Cream Filling have all of the aspects of a delicious dessert without any fuss. There is a cake-like cookie, the pumpkin taste that is so seasonal and comforting, and then the creamy, maple filling. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Whoopee Pies with Maple Cream Filling Recipe

Ingredients

2 Cups Flour (All Purpose)

1 tsp Baking powder

1 tsp Baking soda

1 tsp Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Allspice

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 Cup Butter, softened

1 1/4 Cups Sugar

2 Eggs, beaten

1 1/4 Cups Pumpkin, canned

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Maple Cream Cheese Filling:

8 oz Cream cheese, softened

8 Tbsp Butter, softened

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

3 Tbsp Maple syrup

1 1/2 Cups Powdered sugar
Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, and salt.
  3. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar for 2 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time. Beat well. Add pumpkin and vanilla and beat until smooth.
  4. Stir in flour mixture until just combined.
  5. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto parchment paper. I use a small ice cream scoop to get the same size and shape for each cookie. Using the back of a spoon, lightly flatten cookies while making sure the cookies stay the same size and shape.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes. Cool on baking sheet for 3 minutes then remove to wire rack to cool completely.
  7. For maple cream filling: Beat cream cheese, butter, vanilla and maple syrup until fluffy. Gradually beat in powdered sugar.
  8. When the cookies are completely cool, spread a tablespoonful of the filling on one cookie. Top with a second cookie.
  9. Store cookies in a covered container in refrigerator.
3 responses

  1. These look outstanding and will soon make their way from your kitchen to mine :-). This is my first visit to your blog so I took some time to browse through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did that. You’ve created a great spot for your readers to visit and I really enjoyed the time I spent here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…MaryI

Leave a Reply

