Miso Soup

Miso Soup

Being under the weather is never welcomed with open arms but I have to say…I sure do enjoy all the soup. This year, I added Miso Soup to my list of sick day soups. There is always Chicken Noodle Soup and sometimes I just want a seasoned broth. Miso Soup though is a perfect match for the cold or flu. It has a salty broth and the best part? I control the flavor with the amount of Miso that I add. It really is delicious and kicks that cold to the curb!

My Miso Soup is enhanced (in my opinion anyway) with some chicken broth and a few thinly sliced vegetables. You can add some diced firm tofu but that isn’t what I crave when I am sick. Once I have cooked the soup I give it a final taste. This is the beauty of a Miso Soup…you can adjust with more miso paste. This way you make the soup your own. Try some Miso Soup today!

Miso Soup Recipe

Serves 2-3

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp Vegetable oil
  • 1/4 Cup Mushrooms, very thinly sliced
  • 2 Green onions, minced
  • 2 Cups Chicken stock
  • 2 Cups Water, hot
  • 4 Tbsp White miso paste, more as needed for taste
  • Handful of spinach leaves

Directions

  1. In a soup pan over medium heat, add oil then mushrooms. Sauté until lightly browned. Add 1/2 of the green onion tops, chicken stock and 1 cup of hot water. Bring to a boil.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk one cup hot water and miso paste. When combined, add to soup. Turn off heat and allow to sit for 3-5 minutes. Test for personal taste. Add more miso paste (dissolved in hot water) as needed. I usually use anywhere from 4-6 tablespoons.
  3. Serve by topping with remaining green onion tops.
Leave a Reply

