Coconut Macaroons

Coconut Macaroons

Okay, maybe it’s not very original but I recently had a bag of coconut and couldn’t decide what to do with it. So, I made coconut macaroons. It was hard to resist making a cookie so simple with only six ingredients. In one bowl. In less than thirty minutes. Why wouldn’t I make coconut macaroons? Crispy on the outside and chewy sweetness on the inside.

I wanted to put my stamp on this recipe so I did try something new. After picking up some blood oranges at the market, I thought they would make a great addition to my “unoriginal” coconut macaroons. They tasted great. They tasted just like my first batch of macaroons without the blood orange. Honestly, the blood orange juice made no difference. So guess what? I decided there was no need to mess with perfection.

Coconut Macaroons Recipe

Makes 20-24 cookies

Ingredients

2 2/3 cup sweetened coconut

2/3 cup sugar

4 Tbls flour (add another 2 Tbls if you add 2 Tbls plus zest of blood orange juice)

1/4 tsp salt

4 egg whites

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or grease/spray the sheet.

2. Combine the coconut, sugar, flour, and salt in a medium bowl. Add egg whites and vanilla. Mix to combine well.

3. Use a spoon to drop tablespoon size amounts on to baking sheet. Bake for 18 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool on a wire rack.

One response

Leave a Reply

