Grilled Garlic Lime Fish Tacos

I don’t know about you but I find fish tacos at restaurants frustrating. Very rarely do I find a delicious fish taco anywhere. Do I find a good fish taco? Sometimes. A great fish taco? Not yet. Why am I so picky? I really don’t know what it is. Maybe it’s the fact that many restaurants only offer a fried fish rather than grilled. Maybe it’s the lack of a corn tortilla. Many times it’s the use of iceberg lettuce rather than crunchy cabbage. Whatever it is, I have yet to find that fish taco that has me coming back for more.

What’s the solution to my problem? There are probably lots of solutions to many of my problems. This fish taco problem though…I think the solutions is to make my own fish tacos! I sat down for a few minutes and thought about all of the various components of a fish taco which speak to me (not literally of course!). The chili lime flavors, the crunchy cabbage, the grilled and firm fish, the earthy corn tortillas. Then there has to be a sauce that  brings all of the flavors together. After all of these yummy thoughts, I put together what I thought would be my perfect fish taco. And guess what? They were outstanding! I am so looking forward to the leftovers tonight! Now it’s your turn…don’t go out tonight – make your own Grilled Garlic Lime Fish Tacos!

Grilled Garlic Lime Fish Tacos Recipe

Serves 8 small tacos

Ingredients

Marinade:

1/4 cup olive oil

2 Tbls rice vinegar

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp lime zest

2 Tbls lime juice

2 tsp honey

Pinch salt

Pinch black pepper

1/2 tsp cumin

2 tsp chili powder

2 large tilapia filets, sliced into strips across the grain

2 tsp olive oil, for grilling

Garlic Lime Sauce

8 oz sour cream

3 Tbls mayonnaise

1 Tbls lime zest

Juice from 1/2 of a lime

1 clove garlic, minced

1 green onion, chopped thinly

1/4 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp salt

Fish Taco Toppings

8 Corn Tortillas

Shredded cabbage

Diced tomatoes

Chopped green onions

Directions

1. Make the marinade: Whisk together the olive oil, vinegar, garlic, lime zest, lime juice, honey, salt, pepper, cumin and chili powder. Pour over tilapia. Cover and refrigerate for 2 to 6 hours.

2. Make the sauce: Combine sour cream, mayonnaise, lime zest, lime juice, garlic, green onions, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper. Stir well and store in refrigerator at least 2 hours.

3. After marinating fish, heat an indoor grill pan over medium high heat. Brush the grill pan with 2 tsp olive oil. Add strips of marinated fish without crowding the pan. When you see grill marks, flip the fish carefully, about 2-3 minutes. Remove fish from grill pan after about another 2-3 minutes.

4. Warm corn tortilla in dry, non-stick skillet over medium heat, about 30-45 seconds on each side.

5. Assemble tacos by filling warm tortilla with 2-4 strips of grilled fish and topping with Garlic Lime Sauce, cabbage, tomatoes, green onions, and another thin layer of Garlic Lime Sauce on top.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

